The University of Massachusetts Amherst
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance



Michael Knodler Jr., a professor in the Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) Department and director of the University of Massachusetts Transportation Center, is the winner of a UMass 2021 ADVANCE Faculty Peer Mentor Award. This annual award recognizes the critically important work faculty members perform in mentoring and supporting the professional development and success of their colleagues.

Assistant Professor Christian D. Guzman and graduate student Cielo Sharkus of the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department are spearheading a project that was awarded a $12,000 grant from the Institute of Diversity Sciences (IDS) to study the vulnerability of communities to flooding based on their various demographic characteristics. The goal of the IDS grants is to advance equity through multidisciplinary and socially impactful STEM research and to provide mentored research experience for students.

The Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection recently awarded a grant for $1,072,791 to a group led by Research Professor Dr. David A. Reckhow of the Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) Department to sample for a key form of contaminant – per- and poly-fluoroalkyl substances or PFAS – from approximately 1,600 public water systems and 3,500 private water wells in 84 selected communities across the state.

The Natick Service Council (NSC) honored UMass Amherst alumnus, businessman, and philanthropist Robert Brack on May 19 with its Founders Award at the council’s annual meeting. Brack graduated from the Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) Department in 1960.