The University of Massachusetts Amherst
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance



Professor DeGroot will be giving an invited presentation atthe 4th International Workshop on Soil Parameters from In Situ and Laboratory Tests. The presentation and accompanying paper with Coauthor Prof. Ostendorf) is on laboratory and field methods for measurement of hydraulic conductivity of soils. Prof. DeGroot will also be Chairing the Plenary Session on Soil Parameters from In Situ Tests.

Jeffrey B. Mullan, secretary and CEO of the Massachusetts Department of Transportation (MassDOT), will be the speaker at the first annual William W. Boyer Lecture at 5:30 p.m. on Wednesday, September 29, at the University of Massachusetts Club, 225 Franklin Street, 33rd floor, in Boston. The cost is $10 per person and space is limited. The evening will end with a social hour at 6:30 p.m., including refreshments and networking. The event is open to the media.

During the EMI 2010 conference held August 8 - 11, 2010, at the University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA., there were symposia on micro mechanics for granular materials and geomaterials organized by the Granular Materials Committee of the ASCE Engineering Mechanics Institute to honor the pioneer contribution of Ching S. Chang. There were 24 papers presented by researchers from international community including Japan, Australia, Canada, France, China and the United States.

Recent chemical engineering graduate Matthew Coggon won a 2010 Undergraduate Student Award in Environmental Chemistry from the American Chemical Society (ACS) for, among other accomplishments, his research on acid mine drainage. As his two faculty advisors, former Associate Professor Sarina Ergas of the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department and Professor David Ford (shown) of the Chemical Engineering Department, said about Coggon: “Matt is capable of working at the interface between chemical engineering, environmental engineering, geosciences, and microbiology to make a contribution to our understanding of the worldwide environmental problem of acid mine drainage.”

Professor John Tobiason of the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department will be gathering no moss on his sabbatical this fall. His itinerary includes two professional stops at Montana State University and the University of New South Wales (Australia) for collaborative research related to drinking water and wastewater treatment. Then he will top off those trips with a volunteer stint in Haiti at a hospital and community development organization, where he will help improve healthcare, drinking water, and sanitation.

David Reckhow of the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department received the 2010 Lester Gaynor Award at the Boston Society of Civil Engineers Section of the American Society of Civil Engineers awards dinner on September 16. This award is "presented to a BSCES member or registered Professional Engineer for his or her part-time elected or appointed service as a city or town official, whose reimbursement for service has not been more than an honorarium."

Brian Post, an undergraduate student in the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department, was the recipient of the 2010 Steve L. and Pamela C. Massie Undergraduate Scholarship through the Associated General Contractors of America (AGC). Post, who will be a senior in the fall, was one of only two students from Massachusetts who received an award from the AGC Education and Research Foundation. Scholarships were awarded to 120 students from across the country enrolled in civil engineering or construction management programs.