The University of Massachusetts Amherst
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance



Maintaining our ABET accreditation reaffirms the quality and impact of a UMass Amherst engineering education.  ABET accreditation assures that programs meet standards to produce graduates ready to enter critical technical fields that are leading the way in innovation and emerging technologies, and anticipating the welfare and safety needs of the public.

Professor Sanjay Raja Arwade, who specializes in structural engineering and mechanics in the Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) Department and is a member of the Wind Energy Center faculty, has been elected as a Fellow of the Engineering Mechanics Institute (EMI) of the American Society of Civil Engineers. EMI awards Fellow membership to individuals with a distinguished record of research, accomplishments, and service to EMI.

UMass ADVANCE has announced the 2020-2021 cohort of ADVANCE Faculty Fellows, and it includes five engineering faculty — one from each department.


Sanjay Arwade was an invited speaker for the formal launch of New England for Offshore Wind, a regional coalition of environmental organizations, educational institutions, justice and health organizations, and business alliances. UMass Amherst is one of 21 participating “campaign partners” in this new coalition, which engages in collective advocacy for offshore wind in New England.

Doctoral student Alyssa Ryan of the Transportation Program in the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department has been awarded a German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) One-Year Research Grant for Doctoral Candidates. According to a UMass News Office article, Ryan will conduct research at the Technical University of Munich in Germany on methods to achieve higher levels of highway safety. Her research stint is scheduled to begin in October of 2020.

According to recent estimates, more than 50,000 bridges in the U.S. are characterized as “structurally deficient.” As part of the solution to such widespread bridge deterioration in New England, Professors Simos Gerasimidis and Sergio Breña of the UMass Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) Department have received $667,000 in funding from the Massachusetts Department of Transportation (MassDOT) and the New England Transportation Consortium (NETC) for a series of research projects studying bridges suffering from corrosion deterioration across the region.

College of Engineering Dean Sanjay Raman has announced that faculty members Joseph BardinSong GaoCarlton L. Ho, P.E.Matthew A. LacknerJenna MarquardYahya Modarres-SadeghiHossein Pishro-NikAshwin Ramasubramaniam, and Michael Zink have all been promoted to Full Professor.

Dr. Sanjay Raja Arwade and Dr. Don J. DeGroot, Sc.D., P.E., both professors in the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department, have received a $317,732 grant from the National Science Foundation for a project on wind technology. They are developing models for loading placed on “multiline ring anchors” subjected to wind, waves, and other forces as part of offshore wind development.

Alyssa Ryan receives the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) One-Year Grant for Doctoral Candidates fellowship.

Read more »


Dr. Colin J. Gleason of the Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) Department has won a $930,000 grant from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) to study changing glaciers, rivers, and human water management in Nepal. Gleason is doing the research in cooperation with CEE Professors Dr. Casey Brown and Dr. Konstantinos Andreadis of UMass Amherst and Geology Professor Leigh Stearns at the University of Kansas.