The University of Massachusetts Amherst
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance



The College of Engineering has chosen Professor Friederike Jentoft of the Chemical Engineering (ChE) Department to receive the 2020-2021 Outstanding Senior Faculty Award. The college has also selected Assistant Professor Colin J. Gleason of the Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) Department and Assistant Professor Jun Yao of the Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) Department as the co-recipients of the 2020-2021 Barbara H. and Joseph J. Goldstein Outstanding Junior Faculty Award.

The Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) Department is awarding its 2021 Outstanding Alumni Awards to Edward H. Kalajian ’69MS, ’71PhD and Christine Roy ’04, ’05MS. Kalajian will receive the Distinguished Alumni Award, while Roy will be presented with the Outstanding Young Alumni Award.

Jessica Boakye, lecturer, civil and environmental engineering, and Yanfei Xu, assistant professor, mechanical and industrial engineering, have been named 2021-22 Teaching for Inclusiveness, Diversity and Equity (TIDE) Ambassadors faculty fellows. Read more

The College of Engineering at the University of Massachusetts Amherst continues its climb in the annual U.S. News & World Report listing of “Best Graduate Engineering Schools” placing No. 54 nationally, a rise of two spots.  Among public engineering institutions, the college has entered the top 30, advancing three places to No. 28, and remains the the top public engineering program in New England.

Dr. Simos Gerasimidis, an assistant professor in the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department, is receiving a $547,870 award from the highly coveted National Science Foundation Early Career Development (CAREER) Program.


Professors Sanjay R. Arwade and Kara Peterman from Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) have been selected as the 2020-21 College of Engineering Outstanding Teaching Award winners. This prestigious award, sponsored by the college and the Center for Teaching and Learning, recognizes excellence in teaching as a UMass faculty member. The selections were made by a committee of faculty and staff representing all five departments in the college.

Dr. Emily Kumpel, an assistant professor in the Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) Department, and co-PIs Drs. David Reckhow and Casey Brown of the CEE department, have received a $50,000 grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF) Civic Innovation Challenge Program. The goal of Kumpel’s NSF planning project is to support pioneering tools for the inspection and monitoring of small water systems and to ensure their continuity of operations during and after emergencies.

Kara Peterman (CEE) has received the Terry Peshia Early Career Faculty Award from the American Institute of Steel Construction in recognition of her research, teaching and other contributions to the structural steel industry.

This semester Assistant Professor Emily Kumpel of the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department and Associate Professor Anita Milman of the Department of Environmental Conservation are teaching a groundbreaking service-learning class focusing on “Potable Water for Small and Disadvantaged Communities.” As Kumpel explains about this collaborative course, “We hope that students learn that the challenges small community water systems face require knowledge and skills from many different disciplines,” explains Kumpel.

Dr. John E. Tobiason, P.E., BCEE, a professor and the head of the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department, has been selected as a Fellow of the Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors (AEESP). This recognition is provided by AEESP to members who have demonstrated the highest levels of teaching, research, and/or service in the environmental engineering or science professorate and who have 15 or more years of continued membership within the organization.